SO, WHAT HAVE YOU TRULY UNDERSTAND?

Baby

HAVE YOU ALREADY KNOW IF YOU ARE A RESIDENT OR A VISITOR?

If you still do not know, I doubt you have yet to read my previous post. FRET NOT!

I have more points to add on to what I have said previously. It’s not too late for you to understand it now!

During the first post, I am convinced that I am a digital resident. However, after reading through some of my classmate’s blogs and the comments that I have gotten, it made me question if I am really a resident.

Corinne’s post highlighted the fact that digital visitors usually have little or no presence on the web. She also uses YouTubers and bloggers as an example of digital residents as they depend a lot on Internet. Her reply to my comment made me realised that with the advance technology that we have now, it is impossible to not leave any trace in the net. 

I agree to the fact that Yanyi’s post mentioned that digital visitors and residents are not defined based on age. In addition to what she states in her post, her reply to my comment made me wonder if I am really a resident. 

SO, TO WHAT EXTENT OF WEB PRESENCE WOULD ONE BE CONSIDERED AS A DIGITAL RESIDENT?

I have come across Charlie’s blog which helped to clear my doubts. He derived references from Harris et al.’s use of the ‘passive’ and ‘creator’ categories to further explain the extent of digital resident. The word “resident” is rather broad and anyone can be a resident as long as they have a presence in the web. However, we can distinguish them as a “passive resident” or an “active resident”.

Lastly, these debates helped me to better differentiate between digital visitor and resident.


THE BLOGS

Mason, C. (2014). Explain the concept of digital “visitors” and “residents” drawing upon your own online experiences to date in support of the points that you make. WordPress. [Accessed: 28th November 2014]

Sim, C. (2014). Are you a “visitor” or a “resident”? WordPress. [Accessed: 28th November 2014]

Yanyi. (2014). Visitor? Resident? WordPress. [Accessed: 28th November 2014]

THE COMMENTS ON MY BLOG

Ng, R.H. (2014) Digital Visitors and Residents. WordPress.

One thought on “SO, WHAT HAVE YOU TRULY UNDERSTAND?

Leave a comment