DIGITAL PROFILE

LOVE-HATE RELATIONSHIP

I have a love-hate relationship towards Digital Profile.

When I first started creating account on social media such as Friendster (which was the most popular social media network when I was young), it was amusing to me. Every time I met new friends, I would ask them if they have a Friendster account. If they have, I would add them as friend immediately. At that time, the more friends I have, the happier I get. I would thought that by having more friends in Friendster, it meant that I am more popular and outgoing. I used to envy my friends when they have hundreds and thousands of friends in Social Media Network. Friendster has became a past tense, and now, Facebook has took over Friendster and it serves the same purpose. Besides Facebook, there are also Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, etc.

However, how often do you communicate with your friends on Social Media? How often do you meet them face to face? Do you talk to everyone of them? Do you really know everyone in your “my friends” profile?

Sometimes, I may find that Social Media Network is a nuisance. It does not really connect me with my friends. People now are following their friend’s lifestyles on Social Media Network. It seems that we are all being updated with what our friends are doing. However, that does not really connect us with them, by really knowing what they are doing now. They may post photos or sentences that reflect their happiness, however, do you really know if they are happy? We have lost the simplicity of communication to Social Media Network, where we used to talk to each other face to face, expressing our true emotions, instead of reading it through words.

Furthermore, Digital Profile has interrupted our privacy in life. As long as you have posted something to the internet, or even any of your friends has mentioned your name in there, it will be there forever, even if your account is a private account. Right now, even employers look for information of their employees on the internet. Therefore, this would affect the individual’s freedom.


SELF TEST

I will be assessing myself on the scale of 1 to 5, with 1 being the least experience and 5 being the most experienced.

1. Accessing, managing and evaluating online information.

Rating: 3

Comments: When I search for information online using keywords, it will provide tons of articles and news regarding what I am finding. However, some articles may contradict and it confuses me in knowing which source is more reliable.

2. Participating in online communities.

Rating: 1

Comments: I do not usually participate in online communities, however, I do update myself as and when regarding what I am interested in.

3. Building online networks around an area of interest. 

Rating: 3

Comments: I do not really build networks around my area of interest. However, I do keep myself updated with the latest fashion trend by following my favourite designers, bloggers, etc, to know what is going on in the fashion industry.

4. Collaborating with others.

Rating: 1

Comments: I would love to collaborate with people through Social Media Network, however, I have not met any opportunity for me to do so.

5. Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video)

Rating: 3. 

Comments: I am most active in Instagram, however, I am rather inactive in Twitter as well as Tumblr even tho I do have an account for those. Reason being that I am not good in putting my expressions into words.

6. Managing your online identity.

Rating: 3

Comments: Through my Instagram, I would assume that I have portrayed my identity according to my interest, such as my love towards food, fashion and travelling. However, I do not know if it reflects the same to my audiences.

7. Managing your online privacy and security.

Rating: 2

Comments: I am weak in managing my privacy through Digital Profile. Every Social Media Network account that I have, they are all open to public. To me, Social Media Network is to connect myself to the world, which I think that it defeats the purpose if I were to create an account and make it into a private account. However, I do not provide important information on the net such as my address and contact number that might put me in danger.


ASIAN COUTURE FEDERATION AWARDS GALA PARTY

I believe that what I wrote above are rather dry.

I shall share with you what I’ve done last night at the Asian Couture Federation Awards Gala Party!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

It was a great experience to me. There are people who dressed in couture gown, and people who dressed themselves with feathers, horns, etc. There are many fashion bloggers, fashion magazine photographers, DJs, and people in the rich society.

The MCM Spring Summer 2015 Collection is AMAZING! Those models are too gorgeous and hot too!

Processed with VSCOcam Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset  Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset  Processed with VSCOcam Processed with VSCOcam

There were also free flow of champagne, wine, cocktails, tarts and macaroons from TWG!

Photos of me at the event last night.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

One thought on “DIGITAL PROFILE

Leave a Reply

